Local Heart, Global Soul

July 30, 2011

A 101 Project ….Large Sized Matchbox: Folding Instructions.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Sitting in plaster for weeks on end , zombied out on painkillers and wishing your days could be put onto fast-forward did have one redeeming factor.

During my few waking hours I said “Thank You God for Wi Fi”   and with laptop on the bed,  groggily searched internet pictures for kid friendly, craft orientated fund-raising ideas.

Since concentration span was limited most days it did take me another 6 months to get as far as I have… a ramshackle collection of sketches, ideas and a few failed and eventually two ok prototypes.

One of these ideas was for over-sized matchboxes:  my mind whirred for possible uses:       –  used as small guest treats / name tags on a special occasion dinner table?    – to contain the dosh when someone requests a cash gift?   – to wrap a small gift?     – ribbon all around and Christmas tree ornament ?   –  wrap in crape paper so that it looks like a rectangular bon-bon?     – 24 or 25 of them would make a Christmas Advent calender?      – general “little bits” stash boxes that kids love,     – or just a crafty school holiday project for kids to keep busy and creative, just decorate fold and glue.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Himself printed out a template from the internet and a few weeks later I actually got around to assembling it.

It was perfect… neat folds and lovely, but the inner box would not fit into the outer sleeve come what may… the pattern pieces were clearly not sized so that one could actually fit properly into the other.

Darn…

…so I set about making my own pattern and three further attempts later had a carefully drawn template on a piece of white card.

One day when I am mobile again I want to make these with Scouting so started to measure up more of my templates for them to use. After the third one it was clear that if I were to continue on this track I’d be drawing forever, so changed tack and went in search of a printer who could make copies of  my template. One was duly found and once I explained my lack of mobility,  he even picked up and delivered to our door… brilliant!

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

My method for my fund-raising  is simple: I donate  my time and pay  the cost of all materials from my own pocket, then every cent made from the sale of the kits goes to the Kiribati Kids and I don’t have to mess around with separating and deducting profits from costs etc later.

Himself is leaving the kids and I at home this weekend and attending a conference, there will be stalls where various things are for sale  so he’s taken a pile of these to sell and  this will be my “test run” to see which colours are most popular etc.    I’m putting the folding instructions here so that if Himself sells any, people can log in and see how it’s done if they need the information.

So.. I’m pricing them at a set of 4 little boxes for Euro 2,–  and will keep you informed in due course about if this fund raising project sinks or flies.

Large Sized Matchbox: Folding Instructions.

Step 1: Take both templates for the inside  and outside of the box and fold neatly along both the dotted and solid lines so that you have a sharp crease.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Step 2:  Cut ONLY the SOLID LINES so that your end result has the four corners cut out and “tabs” at each end. (Do NOT cut any dotted line, they are the fold lines).

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Step 3: Bend the tabs in as shown and put a dab of glue on the side of them that faces the outside of the box. Also add glue to the inside of the top flap. Line the tabs up neatly and press into place before folding over the flap (with the glue on the inside) to secure.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Step 4: Repeat (Step 3) to complete the other end of the box.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Step  5: If you wish to decorate the OUTSIDE of your matchbox, then draw, cover or paste things onto to card now whilst it’s flat and before folding it up but remember NOT to decorate the flap that has cut away edges as this is where the glue needs to go. (Make sure that the printed guide marks are on the inside of the box once it’s folded) My instruction box in the photos  is undecorated so that it’s easier to see the steps.

Once your decorations (if any) are finished, add glue to the flap that has cut away edges.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Step 6:  Fold the remaining flap over on the sleeve to complete the box shape. ( I use large paper-clips to hold it in place if I’m gluing up a few boxes at once)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Step 7: Once the glue on the inner box and the outer sleeve has dried, the two parts can be put together to make your box complete.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

3 Comments »

  1. Wow they are really cute and I could think of a lot of uses for them. My daughter loves origami, could be a summer holidays project.

    Comment by sarsm — July 31, 2011 @ 7:46 am | Reply

  2. This reminds me of my late dad, he passed away when I was 4 and one of the things that I remember from him is that he collects a lot of matches from different places, when I was a child we have this big bowl full of matchbox.

    Comment by rsmacaalay — July 31, 2011 @ 8:23 am | Reply

  3. How did they sell? Did it work out for you? Good luck with your fundraiser!

    Comment by sunemoonsong — January 26, 2013 @ 8:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

