Local Heart, Global Soul

March 21, 2017

After All, …I Could Just Be Quackers…

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Regular readers of this blog know that I love to observe the most ordinary of things.

I also have what may be called an “odd” sense of humour, which my family do not always fully appreciate.

Last Easter whilst staying at the De Krim holiday park on the Dutch island of Texel , one such event took place.

Himself needed to check something out at Reception, and not wanting to walk, I waited behind in the car.

All of a sudden I saw a couple of ducks taking a leisurely stroll through the car park.

The car door was already open because the car has been stuffy and I need fresh air in order to ward off feelings of car sickness, so I picked up my camera and started taking photographs.

Every now and again one of the ducks would make a noise, but they continued to walk very purposefully together. My sense of humour immediately imagined that these ducks were an elderly couple, out together for their daily stroll, chatting about one thing or another.  I was smitten by the fact that these two seemed to know exactly where they wanted to go, and the feeling that this probably wasn’t the first time they had done this. Who knows, maybe they were a feathered couple, maybe they do do this every day, and maybe they were having a chat… I have no way of knowing any different. Just look at how they walk and tell me that I’m wrong…  surely not! Maybe too I’m just hopeless romantic who reads too much into everything, or an overly sentimental being who sees sentiment in all. After all… I could just be quackers.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

2 Comments »

  1. probably quackers – after all, you are from New Zealand…

    Comment by Maureen Sudlow — March 21, 2017 @ 7:29 am | Reply

    • Maureen,
      Very true, I realise I have an “interesting” sense of humour lol 🙂

      Comment by kiwidutch — March 23, 2017 @ 1:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

