Local Heart, Global Soul

June 19, 2017

This Was A Delicious Surprise!

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Following yesterdays post, Himself and I were in Garderen in the east of the country for a quiet weekend away.

I had spent Saturday touring the Sand Sculpture festival, with the aid of a wheelchair, managing to see everything from start to finish.

Himself  first enjoyed a long walk in the forests of the Veluwe and then hired a bike from the hotel and cycled to the birthplace of his mother, some 17 kms away, did some touring and sightseeing and had the sort of hours alone that is impossible to achieve at home.

After I’d taken a nap we went for dinner in the  Hotel ’t Speulderbos of the Bilderberg Group, where we were staying. The dinner we had enjoyed the evening before set a very high standard so we were intrigued to see what was on offer this evening.

Having discovered the Oklahoma smoker,  (my latest addition of “kitchen equipment” on my “If I won the lottery” list .. forget shoes!) we then had the terrible dilemma of everything looking so good that we didn’t know where to start.

Inside was laid out an extensive buffet of salads, hot and cold side dishes, most of the meat and fish of course coming from the smoker, some of the veggie dishes too (the courgettes and corn were amazing).

The outside tables were packed full when we arrived so we sat inside, but since we were late arrivals the crowed thinned out allowing me to take photographs of the food without disturbing other diners.

The only error I made was to leave the photographs of the desert buffet until later. The diners had made excellent inroads into these delicious specimens, I had only one photograph of anything “whole” and that was a new desert that was place there just as I came to take photos.

One small detail as the “Kiwi” in me did a double take, I thought I saw a Pavlova amongst the desserts! My heart soared! Then I realised it was actually a Baked Alaska, and that foamy- marshmallow-look was actually vanilla ice cream. My heart sank, but not for long because the Baked Alaska was divine too. The food was amazing, not only did I covert the Oklahoma smoker, Himself and I wanted to steal the chefs as well! It’s not often that I would return somewhere on the globe solely for the food, this is one of those places.

Himself and I agreed that we would not hesitate to return to this hotel, or any others in this same Bilderberg chain.The staff were friendly and helpful to a level that pleasantly surprised us, our later arrival and dinner the evening before was no problem, the one and only glitch was that I could not get my laptop on line, even multiple attempts by the willing and able staff at Reception were fruitless.

As you know, bloggers are lost without their beloved internet connections but actually Himself and I enjoyed our evening so much I didn’t miss it at all.  This was a meal much enjoyed and Himself and I have discovered a new “favourite” place to come for  treat. With locations throughout the Netherlands, who knows where we will be traveling to in the future. The chefs here are far above the standard that  Himself and I often experience, it’s safe to say that this was a delicious surprise!

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Hotel ’t Speulderbos / Garderen – Veluwe / Hotel Bilderberg Group

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

