Local Heart, Global Soul

July 18, 2017

Excellent Timing For Coffee…

Filed under: ART,Flevoland,My Reference Library,PHOTOGRAPHY,Schokland,THE NETHERLANDS — kiwidutch @ 1:00 am
Tags: ,

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Last summer Himself and I had a weekend away, and after spending time in Garderen we made our way to the ex-island of Schokland.

After visiting the inside museum building we then made a tour of the grounds.

Since I move very slowly and sit and rest a lot, I tell Himself to set off at his own pace and we will meet up together later.

Later he joins me because he had finished his tour of the grounds but I was only a fraction of the way around since I traveled so much slower than he did.

Himself therefore decided to walk around the old perimeter of the island whilst I continued my slow tour of the grounds. After I eventually finished I made my way to the café / restaurant near the museum entrance.

I phoned Himself to see how far away he might be from me and it turned out that he was about half way up the main drive. I ordered his coffee and it was served within a minute of him getting to our table. Excellent timing and he made short work of it soon after. I got a photograph of my hot chocolate in the meantime, and, a few of some photographic leaves that I thought I might draw later.

I did have some better photos of the outside area from earlier but since a few families there had children and I could not get them directly out of the front of the picture, I ended up using the late afternoon ones I took when the  tables were mostly empty instead.  It’s clear that Schokland gets it’s fair share of visitors and is often very busy indeed. Both Himself and I loved it here, but were not sure that our kids would have been as absorbed for the same length of time that we were. That’s what has made this kid-free weekend so special: the chance to do stuff at our own pace instead of that of our kids.

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

(photograph © Kiwidutch)

Wikipedia (partial English translation of Dutch Wiki site)/  Schokland /Flevaland / The Netherlands.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

